Rich White to retire from Auto Care Association

Rich White, senior vice president of the Auto Care Association (ACA), will retire in June after an 18-year career at the association that includes overseeing marketing and communications, market research, member services, trade shows and education and serving as the executive director of the Car Care Council. White will continue directing the Car Care Council as a consultant.

White’s retirement triggers a larger reorganization of ACA leadership in which Behzad Rassuli and Larry Northrup assume new senior executive positions. Rassuli becomes senior vice president, strategic development, and Northrup becomes senior director of ACA’s new community engagement department. Northup will continue to serve as executive director of the Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association.

I-Car Honors Peevy

Automotive Management Institute (AMi) President Jeff Peevy has received the I-CAR Founder’s Award, which recognizes individuals who exemplify the I-CAR spirit and have made notable contributions to industry education and training. Peevy has devoted more than 25 years of service to I-CAR as a volunteer, instructor and staff member. He is a former I-CAR senior director.

“I’m honored to receive the I-CAR Founder’s Award. It means a lot to me personally because I have known many of the industry professionals who have received it in the past, as well as many of the original I-CAR pioneers for whom the award was named,” Peevy said.

WIN Names 2017 Most Influential Women

The Women’s Industry Network (WIN) has named three winners of its 2017 Most Influential Women (MIW) Award. The three winners are Cristina Fronzaglia-Murray, manager of marketing communications, Automotive Refinish, PPG; Renee Ricciotti, sales and marketing manager, 3M Automotive Aftermarket; and Elizabeth (Liz) Stein, vice president of industry relations, Assured Performance Network. The award recognizes women who have enriched the collision repair industry with their leadership, vision and commitment to excellence.

“Every year, I’m truly amazed by the diversity of every nominee’s talent and industry involvement. It’s my honor to extend heartfelt congratulations to Cristina, Renee and Elizabeth for winning this prestigious award,” said Petra Schroeder, WIN chair.

AMi Honors 2017 Graduates

AMi recently celebrated the graduation of 43 students of its Accredited Automotive Managers (AAM) and Accredited Master Automotive Manager (AMAM) programs for 2017 at the VISION show sponsored by ASA-Midwest. The graduates included three automotive service and collision repair professionals in the AAM program and 40 members of the second graduating class of AMAM professionals.

“It’s an honor to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of these two groups of professionals during our graduation ceremony. It’s also great to see the growth in the number of graduates again, and we look forward to more achieving this level of professional recognition,” said Jeff Peevy, AMi president.

Tech Authority Subscriptions Are a Great Value

ASA and NAPA Auto Parts are teaming up to offer Mopar Tech Authority subscriptions to member-shops at a substantial discount. Tech Authority subscriptions allow members to access OE information on factory service, diagnostic, wiring and training that is essential to successfully servicing today’s vehicles. To take advantage of this subscription offer through ASA, members must be in good standing.

The Mopar Tech Authority subscription includes:

  • Service information: wire diagrams, code descriptions, diagnostic and service procedures, maintenance intervals, labor times and TSBs
  • Calibration files to program engine control modules and transmission control modules with a J2534 device
  • Calibration files to program all modules, if using a DRB3 or DRB3 emulator (emulator cannot do CCD BUS) and wiTECH (subscription does not include wiTECH user license)

Whether you’re renewing or newly subscribing, take advantage of substantial members-only savings by visiting the ASA Store at For questions, contact ASA’s membership specialist at or call (817) 893-1108.

YANG Honors Next Step Scholarship Winners

The Auto Care Association’s Young Auto Care Network Group (YANG) has awarded $1,100 scholarships to 11 young industry professionals as part of its Next Step program. The Next Step initiative offers future industry leaders opportunities to experience how the association works and gain exposure to a variety of different aspects of the auto care industry.

The winners are:

  • Erin Anderson, BBB Industries
  • Hunter Brack, Hirsig-Frazier Company
  • Isabel Burton, The NPD Group
  • Kyle Ryan Byrne, Arnold Motor Supply
  • Chris Castillo, tascosalesreps
  • Jonny Dykstra, Auto-Wares Group of Companies
  • Mario Garza, XL parts
  • Angela Golden, NGK Spark Plugs
  • Charlotte Grimmett, Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance
  • Sam Pennington, Valvoline
  • Nolan Sponseller, Best One Tire of Upland

Information about the scholarship program and YANG is available at